Oklahoma City Divorce Attorney  Who Can Get Married in Oklahoma

who can get married in OklahomaMost people think of marriage as a romantic arrangement, but in fact it is a legal contract with terms written by the state in which the marriage took place. So, like with any other contract, certain requirements must be met in order for a marriage to be valid. Whether you are getting married in a church, at the city hall or in a ballroom, the same basic rules must be followed. This article explains who can get married in Oklahoma.

Who Can Get Married

In order to get married in Oklahoma, a person must be unmarried and be at least 18 years old. You must not have been previously married for at least six months. If the person is under 18 years of age, they can generally get married if they have the written consent of their parent or guardian. The law forbids any person under the age of sixteen years of age from getting married except when authorized by the court.

The Marriage License

Under Oklahoma law, no one can get married or perform or a marriage ceremony without first obtaining a marriage license from a judge or clerk of an Oklahoma district court authorizing the marriage between the persons named in the license.

To receive a marriage license, you will need to do the following:

  • Pay a fee
  • Prove that you are 18 years of age or be accompanied by a parent or guardian,
  • Be able to present a valid Driver’s License or a Certified Birth Certificate

Once issued, the license is only good for 10 days and it must be returned the Court Clerk within 5 days of the wedding ceremony to be recorded.

Same Sex Marriages

Oklahoma does not allow same sex marriages. Nor will a marriage between persons of the same sex performed in another state be recognized as valid and binding in Oklahoma. Pending litigation in federal courts holds the potential to rapidly change state policies with regard to validity of same-sex marriages performed in another state.

Conclusion

To summarize, you can get married in Oklahoma if you have a marriage license, are unmarried, have been unmarried for six months and are at least 18 years of age or have consent from you parent, legal guardian or authorization from the court. If you have questions regarding your eligibility to get married in Oklahoma, contact an experienced Oklahoma Family Law Attorney.

Free Consultation: Oklahoma City Family Lawyer

Divorce Law Office of Oklahoma City offers initial consultations at no cost. Discover how a knowledgeable Oklahoma City family lawyer can help you through a difficult time. For a free consultation, call (405) 880-8222 today. If you prefer to reach out to us by e-mail, send your question using the “Ask the Lawyer” form at the right side of this page.